«International Justice»
Issue №1(29)

RES JUDICATA

AN OVERVIEW OF THE CASE-LAW OF THE EURASIAN ECONOMIC UNION COURT IN 2018
Kirill Entin, Ekaterina Diyachenko

The year 2018 marked an important milestone in the development of the Eurasian Economic Union Court’s case-law. In its advisory opinions and judgments the Court sought not only to reply to the questions raised by the applicants, but also to formulate universal legal positions, capable to influence law enforcement in the Eurasian Economic Union and its Member-States. Among the general aspects of the functioning of the Union it is necessary to note the development of the Court’s case-law on the general characteristics of EAEU law – primacy and direct effect.

JUSTICIA

THE INTERNATIONAL JUDGE: NOTHING PERSONAL
Tatyana Neshataeva

This article examines the status of international judges. The author notes the dual nature of judicial activity: judges resolve disputes and at the same time are engaged in the development of law by closing legal gaps. In international courts, this function is manifested in two ways: in treaties using judicial positions and through the identification (verbal formulation) of international customs. To achieve this, an international judge must be an expert in international law. In addition to these essential requirements for judges of international courts, the author explores mechanisms for selecting judges in the most authoritative and culturally similar courts

JUS HOMINUM

PROHIBITION OF DISCRIMINATION: A PRACTICAL REVIEW OF THE APPROACHES OF THE EUROPEAN COURT OF HUMAN RIGHTS
Dmitri Bartenev

The anti-discrimination standards elaborated through the case law of the European Court of Human Rights have limited application in Russian judicial practice. Whereas the ECHR methodology in discrimination cases is primarily used in the practice of the Constitutional Court of the Russian Federation, courts of general jurisdiction seldom employ the relevant tests. The article seeks to fill this gap by providing an overview of the ECtHR case law to discuss the concept and types of discrimination, the importance of anti-discrimination provisions in the system of ECHR guarantees of human rights, as well as the general approaches of the European Court of Human Rights to the analysis of allegations of discriminatory conduct by the authorities, including the distribution of the burden of proof in such types of cases.

DEVELOPMENT OF THE CONTENT OF THE POSITIVE OBLIGATIONS OF THE STATE TO COMBAT DOMESTIC VIOLENCE IN THE PRACTICE OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE ELIMINATION OF ALL FORMS OF DISCRIMINATION AGAINST WOMEN
Marie Davtyan

The domestic violence issue has become one of the most debated in Russian society over the past few years. Despite the fact that the international community has been considering domestic violence as a violation of human rights for several decades, among Russian lawyers a scientific discussion on this topic has begun to rise quite recently. The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women is one of the fundamental documents in the field of protecting women from domestic violence. Despite the Convention does not contain direct provisions on domestic violence, the Committee on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women established to monitor the implementation of the norms of the Convention by the State Parties has become a driving force for recognizing domestic violence as a form of gender based discrimination against women.

“ASIAN VALUES” AND THEIR ROLE IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE SUB-REGIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS PROTECTION SYSTEM IN ASIA
Tigran Oganesian

The role and position of Asia in the international system of human rights protection is clearly changing. The scope of international law has been broadened by the adoption of many treaties and customary international law. This article explores the conceptual features of the standards of human rights protection in Asia and identifies a number of principles of Asian society, on the basis of which a special legal culture and attitude to human rights is developing in the region. The author attempts to identify the reasons for the distrustful attitude of Asian countries to international law, the lack of universality of political freedoms and civil rights, as well as an attempt to analyze “Asian values” in the context of human rights protection.

JUS COMMUNE

TRENDS IN RECENT DEVELOPMENTS IN INTERNATIONAL INVESTMENT ARBITRATION: SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES
Ilia Rachkov

The particularity of international investment law is that it does not consist of uniform rules: there are neither substantive, nor procedural rules. Nor is there a single body for resolving investment disputes. The result is unpredictability in application and interpretation of IIL provisions. Some clarity is created by the practice of international investment arbitration tribunals. This article analyses specific examples of such practice on the following ten aspects which arise in the course of considering international investment disputes on the merits: international minimum standard of treatment; denial of justice; standard of fair and equitable treatment; expropriation; full protection and security; umbrella clause; most favored nation treatment; setting aside arbitral awards rendered under ICSID Rules; and review of arbitral awards by national courts.

JUS IN BELLO

AMNESTIES IN THE MECHANISM OF TRANSITIONAL JUSTICE
Andrey Antonov, Oleksandr Yevsieiev

Based on examples and previous studies, this article attempts to holistically comprehend amnesties as a tool of achieving national reconciliation following internal conflicts (civil wars, coups d’etat, etc.), and their positive and negative impacts on post-conflict state and society. Based on this evidence, the authors propose general solutions to conceptual problems related to the compliance of amnesties with the requirements of international law. A distinction is drawn between such amnesties, pardons, and general amnesties, whereas the authors also offer a classification of amnesties based on various criteria, including ratione temporis, ratione loci, and ratione personae. This article further provides a detailed analysis of the amnesties conducted in Hispanic countries during the so-called “third wave” of democratization. In this respect, the concept of “self-amnesties”, widely used in Latin American countries during the transition to democratic rule, is criticized as contradicting the very purpose of this institution. An attempt is made to construct some universal principles, with which the amnesties should comply regardless of the regional specifics.

OPINIO JURIS

REGULATION OF PRIVATE INTERNATIONAL LAW AND INTERNATIONAL CIVIL PROCEDURE IN ARGENTINA (GENERAL CHARACTERISTIC AND PROCEDURAL ASPECT)
Natalia Erpyleva, Irina Getman-Ravlova

The article is devoted to the research of a new regulation in Private International Law and International Civil Procedure in Argentina which was introduced in the process of recodification of private law. In 2014 a new Civil and Commercial Code of Argentina was adopted in which the Title “Provisions on Private International Law” (articles 2594–2671) establishes choice-of-law (conflict) rules and jurisdictional rules. For the purpose of codification of Private International Law and International Civil Procedure the Argentinean legislator chose intra-branch complex form of codification which is traditional for that country.

International Justice • Issue№1(29)

«Международное правосудие»
Выпуск №1(29)

RES JUDICATA

ОБЗОР ПРАКТИКИ СУДА ЕВРАЗИЙСКОГО ЭКОНОМИЧЕСКОГО СОЮЗА В 2018 ГОДУ
Энтин Кирилл Владимирович, Дьяченко Екатерина Борисовна

2018 год ознаменовал собой важный этап в развитии практики Суда ЕАЭС. В своих консультативных заключения и решениях Суд стремился не только ответить на поставленные заявителями вопросы, но и сформулировать правовые позиции универсального характера, способные влиять на правоприменение в Союзе и государствах-членах. Среди общих аспектов функционирования Союза стоит выделить развитие практики Суда, посвящённой основным свойствам права Союза – верховенству и прямому действию. 

JUSTICIA

МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ СУДЬЯ: НИЧЕГО ЛИЧНОГО
Нешатаева Татьяна Николаевна 

Статья посвящена изучению статуса международных судей. Автор отмечает двойственный характер природы судейской деятельности: судьи разрешают споры и одновременно занимаются развитием права, закрывая правовые лакуны. В международных судах эта функция проявляется двояко: в договорах с помощью судебных позиций и через выявление (словесное формулирование) международных обычаев. Для этого международный судья должен быть специалистом в области международного права. Помимо этих важнейших требований к судьям международных судов автор исследует механизмы отбора судей в наиболее авторитетных и близких по культурному контексту судах.

JUS HOMINUM

ЗАПРЕТ ДИСКРИМИНАЦИИ: ПРАКТИЧЕСКИЙ ОБЗОР ПОДХОДОВ ЕВРОПЕЙСКОГО СУДА ПО ПРАВАМ ЧЕЛОВЕКА
Бартенев Дмитрий Геннадиевич 

Антидискриминационные стандарты, выработанные в прецедентном праве Европейского Суда по правам человека, имеют ограниченное применение в российской судебной практике. В то время как методология ЕСПЧ в делах о дискриминации в основном используется в практике Конституционного Суда Российской Федерации, суды общей юрисдикции редко применяют соответствующие тесты. В статье делается попытка восполнить этот пробел на основе обзора прецедентного права ЕСПЧ и обсуждения понятия и видов дискриминации, значения антидискриминационных положений в системе конвенционных гарантий прав человека, а также общих подходов ЕСПЧ к анализу жалоб на дискриминационное отношение властей, включая распределение бремени доказывания по данной категории дел. 

РАЗВИТИЕ СОДЕРЖАНИЯ ПОЗИТИВНЫХ ОБЯЗАТЕЛЬСТВ ГОСУДАРСТВА ПО БОРЬБЕ С ДОМАШНИМ НАСИЛИЕМ В ПРАКТИКЕ КОМИТЕТА ПО ЛИКВИДАЦИИ ВСЕХ ФОРМ ДИСКРИМИНАЦИИ В ОТНОШЕНИИ ЖЕНЩИН
Давтян Мари Давитовна

Проблема домашнего насилия в России стала одной из самых остро обсуждаемых в обществе за последние годы. Несмотря на то что международное сообщество уже несколько десятилетий рассматривает домашнее насилие как нарушение прав человека, научная дискуссия среди российских юристов по этой теме стала подниматься не так давно. Одним из основополагающих документов в области защиты женщин от домашнего насилия стала Конвенция о ликвидации всех форм дискриминации в отношении женщин. Хотя Конвенция не содержит прямых положений о домашнем насилии в своём тексте, Комитет по ликвидации всех форм дискриминации в отношении женщин, который был создан для контроля над исполнением государствами-участниками норм Конвенции, стал движущей силой для признания домашнего насилия формой гендерной дискриминации в отношении женщин.

«АЗИАТСКИЕ ЦЕННОСТИ» И ИХ РОЛЬ В СТАНОВЛЕНИИ СУБРЕГИОНАЛЬНОЙ СИСТЕМЫ ЗАЩИТЫ ПРАВ ЧЕЛОВЕКА В АЗИИ
Оганесян Тигран Давидович 

Роль и положение Азии в международной системе защиты прав человека заметно меняются. Сфера охвата международного права расширилась благодаря принятию многих договоров и норм обычного международного права. В настоящей статье исследуются концептуальные особенности стандартов защиты прав человека в странах Азии; выделяются ряд принципов азиатского общества, на основе которых и складывается особая правовая культура, и отношение к правам человека в регионе. Автор обращается к сложившейся системе понимания прав человека в Азии, отличающейся своеобразием применяемых подходов, несвойственных европейской. Автором предпринята попытка выявления причин недоверчивого отношения азиатских стран к международному праву, неприятия универсальности политических свобод и гражданских прав, а также попытка анализа «азиатских ценностей» в контексте защиты прав человека.

JUS COMMUNE

ТЕНДЕНЦИИ РАЗВИТИЯ МЕЖДУНАРОДНОГО ИНВЕСТИЦИОННОГО АРБИТРАЖА: ВОПРОСЫ ПО СУЩЕСТВУ СПОРОВ
Рачков Илья Витальевич 

Особенностью международного инвестиционного права является то, что в нём нет единых правил – ни материально-правовых, ни процессуальных. Нет и единого органа по разрешению инвестиционных споров. Результатом является непредсказуемость в применении и толковании норм международного инвестиционного права. Некоторую ясность в этот вопрос вносит практика международных инвестиционных арбитражей. В статье проанализированы конкретные примеры такой практики по следующим десяти вопросам, возникающим при рассмотрении международных инвестиционных споров по существу: международный минимальный стандарт обращения; отказ в правосудии; стандарт справедливого и равноправного обращения; экспроприация; полная защита и безопасность; сфера действия «зонтичной оговорки»; режим наибольшего благоприятствования; отмена арбитражных решений по правилам МЦУИС; пересмотр арбитражных решений национальными судами.

JUS IN BELLO

АМНИСТИИ В МЕХАНИЗМЕ ПЕРЕХОДНОГО ПРАВОСУДИЯ
Антонов Андрей Николаевич, Евсеев Александр Петрович

В статье предпринята попытка, базируясь на анализе примеров и предшествующих исследований, целостно осмыслить амнистии как средство достижения национального примирения после внутренних конфликтов (гражданские войны, перевороты и т.д.), их положительные и отрицательные стороны в плане воздействия на постконфликтное общество и государство и на основе этого предложить общетеоретические подходы к решению концептуальных проблем, связанных с соответствием таких амнистий требованиям международного права. Проводится отличие данного вида амнистий от помилований и общеуголовных амнистий. Классифицируются различные виды амнистий в зависимости от разнообразных критериев, в том числе во времени, пространстве и по кругу лиц. Делается попытка вывести универсальные принципы, которым должны соответствовать амнистии независимо от региональной специфики. Освещаются некоторые проблемные моменты, связанные с принятием решения о проведении амнистии и её последствиями на внутреннем и международном уровнях.

OPINIO JURIS

РЕГУЛИРОВАНИЕ МЕЖДУНАРОДНОГО ЧАСТНОГО ПРАВА И МЕЖДУНАРОДНОГО ГРАЖДАНСКОГО ПРОЦЕССА В АРГЕНТИНЕ (ОБЩАЯ ХАРАКТЕРИСТИКА И ПРОЦЕССУАЛЬНЫЙ АСПЕКТ)
Ерпылева Наталия Юрьевна, Гетьман-Павлова Ирина Викторовна

Статья посвящена исследованию нового регулирования международного частного права и международного гражданского процесса в Аргентине, принятого в рамках процессов рекодификации и унификации частного права. В 2014 году был утверждён новый Гражданский и коммерческий кодекс Аргентины, статьи 2594–2671 Титула IV «Положения международного частного права» которого устанавливают правила выбора применимого права, юрисдикционные правила и положения о правовой помощи. Для кодификации данных отраслей права аргентинский законодатель избрал внутриотраслевую комплексную форму, традиционную для этой страны. В статье главное внимание уделено анализу процессуальных аспектов принятого законодательства. Основной посыл нового международного гражданского процесса Аргентины – обеспечение равного права на доступ к правосудию для любых лиц, находящихся на территории страны.

Международное правосудие • Выпуск №1(29)