«Comparative Constitutional Review»
Issue №5 (132) 2019

CONTENTS

CONSTITUTIONAL WATCH: AUGUST–SEPTEMBER • 2019

POINT OF VIEW

MODELS OF RUSSIAN PARLIAMENTARISM
Ilya Shablinsky

This article is based on a hypothesis that so far a unified tradition of parliamentarism perception has not been definitively formed in Russia, as well as a unified pattern of the interaction of the people’s representative body with the executive authorities. The splitting of the existing model into at least three different smaller models can be viewed as a result of the contemporary political history of Russia with the mostly unsuccessful attempts to carry out a constitutional reform. The author examines some of the key events of the last stage of this reform. The focus of the article is on the evolution of the form of government in Russian Federation from 1990.

LEGAL ARGUMENTATION

RHETORIC OF RESTRICTIONS: ARGUMENTS IN JUDICIAL DECISIONS ON FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS
Anita Soboleva

The article contains rhetorical analysis of arguments employed in cases where restrictions on fundamental rights have been challenged. It starts with a short overview of how “restrictions” are construed by different legal scholars in Russia, and a working definition of restrictions for the purposes of the analysis is given: it is understood as any narrowing of the scope of fundamental rights or their denial. In the next section the nature of legal arguments as rhetoric arguments is shown. Further, different types of conclusions drawn from valid and invalid premises and used with dialectic, sophistic or eristic purposes in attempts to justify restrictions of constitutional rights to freedom of assembly, freedom of belief and right to liberty and security of person in the texts of judicial decisions are analyzed. It is argued, that the purpose of correct legal arguments is to look at the problem from different perspectives, to find a just solution and to achieve the consent and adherence of the audience.

LEGAL REASONING IN CONSTITUTIONAL JUSTICE: AT THE FOOT OF THE RHETORICAL APPROACH
Aleksandra Uroshleva

The author of this article finds it necessary to pay more attention to the reasoning in the judgments of the bodies of constitutional review, taking into account the significant role that such judgments play in modern democracies. Meanwhile, in domestic legal science and practice focus is often made on regarding methods of constitutional interpretation, but not constitutional reasoning per se. The author defines the aim and the functions of constitutional reasoning. Acceptance of reasoning by parties of a constitutional process and by society as a whole is postulated as the aim of the reasoning, but it differs from a consent. A court’s aspiration to convince the audience should not be limited to meeting public expectations. Courts should consider public interests, but at the same time, they should remain “defenders” of the constitutional order and human rights. The author formulates, given the aim, the argumentative-interpretative, legitimating, policy-making or disciplining and informative functions of constitutional reasoning. As an effective model of reasoning in the judgments of the bodies of constitutional review, the author suggests a rhetorical one, considering the need to achieve the stated aim of the reasoning and to perform the indicated functions.

THE MULTI-FACETED LEGAL CERTAINTY

RETROACTIVE CHANGE OF STATUTORY LIMITATIONS FOR PROSECUTION OF CRIMINAL OFFENCES: THE JUDGMENT OF THE RUSSIAN CONSTITUTIONAL COURT OF 19 JANUARY 2017 IN THE EUROPEAN CONTEXT
Nikolay Bobrinskiy

The article is freely available

The judgment of the Russian Constitutional Court (the RCC) on the executability of the ECtHR judgment on pecuniary damage in the case of Yukos v. Russia has not been popular among researchers, maybe because it was surrounded by a shady political context. However, its reasoning deserves special attention. This article aims at comparing the arguments of the Russian Constitutional Court in support of retroactive change of rules of statutory time-bar for prosecution of tax offences and the reasoning of the constitutional and supreme courts of the Member States of the Council of Europe in cases related to retroactive extension, reinstatement or abolition of the statutory limitations for criminal prosecution (of non-international crimes).

CORRUPTION IN FOCUS: THE LEGAL PERSPECTIVE

THE SPECIFICS OF THE EVOLUTION OF THE CONCEPT OF POLITICAL CORRUPTION IN WESTERN AND RUSSIAN POLITICAL AND LEGAL DISCOURSE
Stanislav Sheverdyaev, Alina Shenfeldt

The article is freely available

This article provides a brief overview of the evolution of the concept of political corruption in the Western and Russian political and legal discourse. These observations help to understand that political and legal sciences, both in Russia and abroad, are on the way of increasing convergence in the search for constructive systemic solutions. At the same time, the authors do not attempt to establish an exhaustive set of criteria for the inclusion of existing anti-corruption institutions in the sphere of the constitutional law, or to predetermine the limits of immersion of constitutional and legal science in anti-corruption material. The main objective of the article is to characterize some of the main reference points of the modern international and Russian debates on corruption as a complex social problem. 

THE BALANCE OF CONSTITUTIONAL VALUES IN STRATEGIES TO COMBAT ILLICIT ENRICHMENT (RUSSIAN CASE)
Aleksey Chumakov

At the beginning of this paper, a classification of the types of enrichment of public officials depending on the method of generating the income is presented. A proposition is made to introduce the term “unjust enrichment”, which clarifies the specifics of non-criminalized illicit enrichment. The strategies for countering illicit enrichment are presented: the unexplained wealth orders strategy, the strategy of illicit enrichment criminalization, the administrative and disciplinary control strategy, the strategy of social solidarity. The author also looks into the criminalization of illicit enrichment as the main anti-corruption tool and gives his opinion on the issue. The author explores the correlation between the principles of the inviolability of private and family life, the presumption of innocence and the right not to incriminate oneself on the one hand and the principles of effective public administration and social justice on the other hand.

BOOK REVIEW

POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY OF M.GORBACHEV AND THE PROSPECTS FOR A NEW WORLD ORDER
Book review Gorbachev M. In a changing world. Moscow : AST, 2018
Andrey Medushevsky

The current debate about the prospects of the new global legal order reveals the importance of the political philosophy of international relations, international law and changing institutional constructions of the global governance. The formation of transnational norms and institutions is a very controversial process with regards to such issues as the concept of global and European security; conflicts between values and interests; international and national priorities; the role of trust in international affairs and competing strategies of political elites and leaders in a changing world. The new book of the former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev combines all these topics in one by describing the historical origins of the current international debates, grounds of the modern international destabilization after the end of the Cold War and the collapse of the Soviet Union, and by formulating some recommendations in order to overcome the current “global turmoil”.

IN THE RUSSIAN CONSTITUTIONAL COURT

REVIEW OF LEGAL REASONING IN THE RUSSIAN CONSTITUTIONAL COURT JUDGMENTS: NOS.26-P–31-P (2019)

REVIEW OF LEGAL REASONING IN THE RUSSIAN CONSTITUTIONAL COURT RULINGS NOS.1831-O, 1833-O, 1835-O, 1838-O, 2145-O, 2181-O (2019)

Comparative Constitutional Review • Issue№5 (132) 2019

Журнал «Сравнительное конституционное обозрение»
Выпуск №5 (132) 2019

СОДЕРЖАНИЕ ВЫПУСКА

МОНИТОРИНГ КОНСТИТУЦИОННЫХ НОВОСТЕЙ

АВГУСТ– СЕНТЯБРЬ • 2019 

Абхазия, Австрия, Армения, Великобритания, Израиль, Индия, Россия, Румыния, США, Турция

«Мониторинг конституционных новостей» – это подборка новостных сообщений о наиболее интересных и важных с конституционно-правовой точки зрения событиях и решениях в различных странах мира. 

ТОЧКА ЗРЕНИЯ

МОДЕЛИ РОССИЙСКОГО ПАРЛАМЕНТАРИЗМА Картинки по запросу лого корзина
Илья Шаблинский

Статья основывается на тезисе, согласно которому в России пока не сформировалось единой модели взаимодействия органа народного представительства с исполнительной властью. Её расщепление по меньшей мере на три разные модели – результат новейшей политической истории страны с её не вполне удачными попытками конституционной реформы. В статье рассматриваются некоторые важные вехи последнего этапа данной реформы. Речь идёт об эволюциях формы правления в Российской Федерации с 1990 года. 

ЮРИДИЧЕСКАЯ АРГУМЕНТАЦИЯ

РИТОРИКА ОГРАНИЧЕНИЙ: АРГУМЕНТАЦИЯ В СУДЕБНЫХ СПОРАХ О ФУНДАМЕНТАЛЬНЫХ ПРАВАХКартинки по запросу лого корзина
Анита Соболева

В статье проводится риторический анализ аргументации, использованной при рассмотрении судами споров о правомерности ограничений, наложенных на права и свободы граждан. Во введении даётся краткий обзор различных точек зрения на понятие «ограничения» и отмечается, что в данной статье это слово понимается как любое сужение пределов фундаментального права или отказ в его предоставлении. Далее даётся понятие юридической аргументации как аргументации риторической и рассматриваются характерные для риторической аргументации виды умозаключений, допустимых и недопустимых с точки зрения справедливости, обоснованности и способности урегулировать правовой спор таким образом, чтобы достичь согласия и присоединения аудитории.

ОБОСНОВАНИЕ РЕШЕНИЙ ОРГАНОВ КОНСТИТУЦИОННОГО ПРАВОСУДИЯ: «НА ПОДСТУПАХ» К РИТОРИЧЕСКОМУ ПОДХОДУКартинки по запросу лого корзина
Александра Урошлева

В статье автор определяет цель и функции обоснования решений органов конституционного правосудия. В качестве цели постулируется принятие обоснования участниками конституционного процесса и обществом в целом, что не тождественно при этом согласию с решением. Стремление суда убедить аудиторию не должно сводиться к удовлетворению общественных ожиданий. Автором обособляются такие согласующиеся с целью обоснования функции, как аргументационно-интерпретационная, легитимирующая, политико-формирующая, или дисциплинирующая, и информационная. Отталкиваясь от необходимости достижения указанной цели обоснования решений конституционных судов и выполнения названных функций, в качестве эффективной модели обоснования решений предлагается риторическая, которая предполагает опору не на истинные, а на правдоподобные посылки, что согласуется с условиями социальной реальности.

ГРАНИ ПРАВОВОЙ ОПРЕДЕЛЁННОСТИ

ИЗМЕНЕНИЕ СРОКОВ ДАВНОСТИ ПРИВЛЕЧЕНИЯ К ПУБЛИЧНО-ПРАВОВОЙ ОТВЕТСТВЕННОСТИ С ОБРАТНОЙ СИЛОЙ: ПОСТАНОВЛЕНИЕ КОНСТИТУЦИОННОГО CУДА РОССИИ ОТ 19 ЯНВАРЯ 2017 ГОДА №1-П В ЕВРОПЕЙСКОМ КОНТЕКСТЕ
Николай Бобринский

Статья представлена в свободном доступе

Постановление российского Конституционного Суда о возможности выплаты акционерам компании «ЮКОС» компенсации, присуждённой Европейским Судом по правам человека, до сих пор не получило достаточного внимания среди исследователей, возможно, из-за сомнительного политического фона, который сопровождал его появление. В статье предпринята попытка сопоставления использованных в Постановлении доводов в защиту ретроактивного увеличения срока давности привлечения к налоговой ответственности с правовыми позициями судебных органов конституционного контроля и высших судов государств – членов Совета Европы по делам, связанным с ретроактивным продлением, восстановлением или отменой сроков давности уголовного преследования (преступления по международному праву при этом не рассматриваются).

КОРРУПЦИЯ: В ЗОНЕ ОСОБОГО ВНИМАНИЯ ПРАВА

ОСОБЕННОСТИ СТАНОВЛЕНИЯ ПРОБЛЕМЫ ПОЛИТИЧЕСКОЙ КОРРУПЦИИ В КАЧЕСТВЕ ТЕМЫ ПОЛИТИКО-ПРАВОВОЙ НАУЧНОЙ ДИСКУССИИ
Станислав Шевердяев, Алина Шенфельд

Статья представлена в свободном доступе

В данной статье излагается краткий обзор представлений о проявлении коррупции в качестве системной общественно-политической проблемы, которые сложились в западном и российском политико-правовом научном дискурсе. Эти наблюдения помогают понять, что политическая и юридическая науки как в России, так и за рубежом находятся на пути всё большего сближения в поисках конструктивных системных решений. При этом авторы не пытаются установить некий исчерпывающий набор критериев для включения существующих антикоррупционных институтов в сферу внимания конституционного права либо предопределить пределы погружения конституционно-правовой науки в антикоррупционный материал. Основной задачей статьи является характеристика некоторых основных опорных точек современной международной и российской дискуссии о коррупции как комплексной общественной проблеме.

БАЛАНС КОНСТИТУЦИОННЫХ ЦЕННОСТЕЙ В СТРАТЕГИЯХ ПРОТИВОДЕЙСТВИЯ НЕЗАКОННОМУ ОБОГАЩЕНИЮ (НА ПРИМЕРЕ РОССИИ) Картинки по запросу лого корзина
Алексей Чумаков

Автор ставит целью найти справедливый и устойчивый баланс между интересами общества, государства и публичных должностных лиц. Методологической основой статьи стал системный подход, позволяющий рассматривать незаконное обогащение в качестве комплексного феномена, включающего в себя конституционные, уголовные, гражданско-правовые и административные правоотношения, а также экономический и управленческий аспекты. Использованы общенаучные (анализ, обобщение, классификация) и специальные методы: сравнительно-правовой и формально-юридический метод. Для разработки и оценки эффективности стратегий противодействия незаконному обогащению применён метод правового моделирования.

РЕЦЕНЗИЯ

ПОЛИТИЧЕСКАЯ ФИЛОСОФИЯ М.ГОРБАЧЁВА И ПЕРСПЕКТИВЫ НОВОГО МИРОВОГО ПОРЯДКА
Рецензия на книгу Горбачев М. В меняющемся мире. М. : АСТ, 2018 Картинки по запросу лого корзина
Андрей Медушевский

Текущие дебаты о перспективах нового глобального правового порядка выявляют важность политической философии международных отношений, международного права и меняющихся международных конструкций глобального управления. Формирование транснациональных норм и институтов представляет собой противоречивый процесс, заставляющий решать такие проблемы, как концепция глобальной и европейской безопасности, конфликты между ценностями и интересами, международными и национальными приоритетами, роль доверия в международных отношениях и конкурирующие стратегии политических элит и лидеров в меняющемся мире. Новая книга бывшего президента СССР М.Горбачёва сочетает все эти темы воедино, описывая исторические предпосылки современных международных дебатов, причины современной международной дестабилизации с окончанием холодной войны и распада Советского Союза, предлагая некоторые рекомендации с целью преодоления нынешней «глобальной смуты».

В КОНСТИТУЦИОННОМ СУДЕ РОССИИ

ОБЗОР ПРАВОВЫХ ПОЗИЦИЙ В ПОСТАНОВЛЕНИЯХ КОНСТИТУЦИОННОГО СУДА РОССИИ №26-П–31-П • 2019

ОБЗОР ПРАВОВЫХ ПОЗИЦИЙ В ОПРЕДЕЛЕНИЯХ КОНСТИТУЦИОННОГО СУДА РОССИИ №1831-О, 1833-О, 1835-О, 1838-О, 2145-О, 2181-О • 2019

Сравнительное конституционное обозрение • Выпуск №5 (132) 2019